Opinion: This isn’t a joke, America


A rant and rave by Jerry Finch

images-17More horsemeat found in beef products, more bute found in horsemeat, more graft and corruption, more “scientists” saying, “Oh, it’s okay. The drugs are harmless.” Ever wonder why people fight against regulations? Perhaps it’s because they can’t get away with the things they do to put more money in their pockets, even if it places other people’s life at risk. Democracy and self-government, to be fully functional, must have a population that governs itself with a high set of standards. When we see our government officials fall into the trap of corruption and self-interest, it’s little wonder that the general population follows the same path.

The food industry in the EU brought all this on themselves. No one was blindfolded. No one, “Just didn’t know.”  You don’t operate a multi-million dollar food supply company without knowing what is in the food you produce. The bottom line is that they have all been caught with their pants down and the big cover-up has become the big lie.

It isn’t a joke, America. Corruption in the food industry is killing us. Junk food, diseased meat products, beef filled with so many chemicals that other nations won’t touch it,  E. Coli contaminated vegetables, sugar filled and addicting snacks, cancer causing tobacco – all done for the profit of a few who truly believe they can get away with it. And they are right. Remember the tobacco industry testifying in front of a Congressional Committee? “There is no scientific indication that tobacco is linked to lung cancer.”

Killing horses for fun and profit against the will of the majority of the US population is a primary sign that this country has a serious problem. The BLM is completely out of control and doesn’t even fake answering questions posed by a few honest Senators and Representatives. And don’t get me started on the general meat industry – so corrupt and violent that they don’t want anyone to even look at them, thus they pass ag-gag bills.

Through this website, I try to bring you the news that is important to all those who care about their horses, to support those who fight our battles in Congress and to expose those who want to destroy what we love. When the horsemeat stories broke in January, the news popped fast, then came the NM and OK slaughterhouse proposals and all the shining examples of the worst of legislatures. Hidden in all that were a few shining stories, but the horror and stupidity instantly over-shadowed them.

Horsemeat eating small town slob that became a spokeswoman for the slaughter industry, brainless macho man shooting a horse to prove a point, Tom Davis walking away because law enforcement “forgot to file charges,” Governor signs slaughter bill… It gets to the point sometimes where I look at these stories in utter disbelief and all I can do is say, “Really? Seriously?”

That the power structure in the supposed “free” world gets away with this and expects the general population to forget about it is unbelievable, yet they continue, and we do let it go and move on. Sandy Hook is old news, the legislators in Oklahoma will be reelected, the passage of horsemeat through the Port of Houston, which is against the Texas law, will be forgotten, a few people will be thrown in jail, but the main players will keep on doing what they always did.

Unless… dare I ask…did YOU call in support of the SAFE Act? Did you bother to fill out the online form just to let Washington know your thoughts?  If you agree with anything I’ve said, but you didn’t bother to pick up the phone or go to a website to respond and show your support, then we both know what the problem really is. Pretending to be angry and upset doesn’t do anyone any good unless you’re willing to voice your opinion to those who have the ability to do something about it. You can make comments all day long on Facebook, but that doesn’t mean anything. What means something is for you to pick up the phone, call Washington DC, and let them know exactly how you feel. Or at least fill out an online form. Ten minutes, max. You spent that long reading this article.

Harmful painkillers found in food products with horse DNA

Portugal’s leading consumer rights association has found traces of anti-inflammatory drugs in the horsemeat found in processed food products that were on sale in Portugal, indicating a potential risk to public health, the group said in a statement on Thursday.

Horsemeat: The European Web
EU countries have issued more than 50 alerts related to meat contamination

Asda corned beef recalled over bute

Asda is recalling all corned beef from its budget range after traces of veterinary drug phenylbutazone were found in some batches.

Chief medical officer: ‘Bute’ poses ‘very low’ risk

Chief Medical Officer Professor Dame Sally Davies has previously said that ‘bute’ poses only a very low risk to humans. She said:

Have you had enough yet, America? You are the answer. Stand up. Make the call.

AUTHOR: Jerry Finch
  • christy

    I totally agree with you on this. Yes I called Gov Martinez and got one of her contstituents answering machine. I voted for petitions all over. Unfortunately these people in office aren’t a voice for the people. Martinez covers herself by helping horse rescues and looks like shes on the side of the race horses to some but to me looks like shes trying save her own behind when it comes back around that these horses have a lot more than just bute in their systems. You can already see the food corruption in the US. Everything you purchase has soy in it or high fructose corn syrup. Both are Genetically modified ingredients. You cant even buy a can of tuna that isnt packed with soy to lessen the meat and give them some more money in their pockets. Its ridiculous. The people that operate this country disgust me. Americans are more part of the slaughter industry than they realize. Keep people sick enough to not live past 50 to collect social security but long enough to work all their lives. Just like being fattened for slaughter.

    April 9, 2013
  • sherriey

    i have, Jerry, many many times. on line also. petitions also. letters also. i know a lot of people who have too.
    we are peons, Jerry. do they really care or listen to us?
    i didn’t quite hear all the news tonite on our local TV station, but there was a man and a woman shown with duct tape over their mouths…it had to do with some sort of ?movement? in regards to the gov not listening to the people and what the people want (or don’t want)…that they (the gov) pass bills that THEY want no matter what the public outcry is. nother words….we DO NOT count…we are no longer listened to. its not “by the people…” any more.
    i wish i had heard the whole news topic, but i caught that as i came in from work. it seems that since this administration has been in office…WE THE PEOPLE are no longer being considered when new laws are on the ‘table’. they are passed without our vote behind closed doors. we find out about them thru the media…we never had a say one way or the other. this country is becoming a gov ruled country right before our very eyes.
    may GOD help us!

    April 9, 2013
    • sherriey

      i forgot to add another thing….not all people that go against regulations are up to no good. take that Ag-Gag law….i for one am against this “regulation” and not for bad purposes….and i would assume everyone on here is against it too…and not for bad purposes. there are too many regulations out there that do the good man wrong and the bad man right….all government sponsored! again….too much lying deceiving corrupted gov in our lives!

      April 9, 2013
      • sherriey

        …..and I for one…will NEVER give up the fight to end slaughter! ITS PERSONAL FOR ME!!!!

        April 9, 2013
  • CanAmFam


    Everyone is apoplectic at the developments, but are they calling their legislators?

    Why is it so easy for people to argue endlessly with horse eaters on Facebook, but so hard to call the actual people who are determining the fate of our beloved equines?

    Thank you for articulating this dilemma. I hope it moves people into taking meaningful action.

    April 9, 2013
    • Remember, not everyone has a cell phone and an unlimited long distance calling plan. I don’t. I can call a couple of times, but every day, calling everyone on a committee? Cannot afford to do it.

      I write, fax and email, but I just can’t afford regular, multiple calls to DC.

      Seriously, we do NOT have a cell! 🙂

      April 10, 2013
  • Crystal

    It’s like Sandy Hook, a couple months out and people lose focus. Until a Jerry rant kicks us in the behind again.
    Personally, I call DC 10-15 times a week, letters, both snail & e go out weekly. Yes, there are times I feel utterly useless, but a Jerry rant will get more calls & letters out of my house.

    April 9, 2013
  • Margaret

    What is taking so long to charge Tim Sappington? He threw down a threat, a very real threat and followed those words up with deadly force. Seems to me by now someone could’ve filed some charge against him.

    Jason Meduna massive horse starter, beggar, and definitely not a Dudley do Right is once again behind bars. He was caught with HORSES on his property. He was also found to be using an alias. I hope they lock him up and forget to release him…

    For a moment we do a bright ray of light. NV FINALLY passed legislation making it illegal to trip horses! Now to work on enforcement…but we got the law onto the books. Thank you Senator Manendo (I know I flubbed the spelling…)

    This whole business with Oklahoma stinks worse than an outhouse on a hot summer day. Our fight was NEVER about private property. It was about the kind of jobs that slaughter brings etc. Why this governor chose to sign a Bill that she had every one writing her about–not to sign it–is beyond me. Is she really that far into bed with ranchers that she can’t see the bad that’s about to be brought down on their States head?

    I don’t care that she is committed to animal welfare and her office is too. Big deal. When the tv cameras go away and the news stations wander off to followup another story, and this governor is out of office WHO WILL OVERSEE THESE HOUSES OF HORROR?

    It’s great to boycott Oklahoma but what happens when they go begging the Feds for money to clean up their horse manure citiies and towns? What happens when they beg for money for more police because the crime rate is so high no one wants to leave their homes? Did this governor bother to think about the repercussions before she signed this document? Cause if so she surely sold everyone in her state down the creek in a garbage scow.

    Sorry Jerry. Like you I guess I’m feeling pretty frustrated in general. Frustrated that judges would sell the horses out to ranchers in WY. And all the other daily endless stories that break your heart.

    April 9, 2013
  • Margaret

    PS yes I have signed petitions and have written my Senators and Reps…

    April 9, 2013
  • You summed it up very nicely. We all sign petitions. We call our legislators. Send emails to Governors Fallin and Martinez. We educate people who are willing to listen. And yet it’s so disheartening when nothing changes and you feel like nothing you do can make a difference. The sense i get is that people are becoming apathetic. I don’t know what is happening in this country with Ag Gag bills, rounding up on our horses and spending millions of dollars to care for them. When people like slaughterhouse Sue and Skye McNeil travel around the country at the public’s expense pitching their own agenda for their own personal gain and no one can touch them. Now Oklahoma and New Mexico are going to slaughter horses because joe blow down street couldn’t keep his stallion away from his mares and he can’t afford to feed them. I’m disgusted wtih this country and our politicians.

    April 9, 2013
  • Paula Denmon

    I call, I write, I email, I fax. But now I’m calling out the Republicans. It seems to always be
    In the Red States. The Same ones that hate women, cut education for children and do whatever it takes to make the corporations happy. Including soring horses, allowing terrible cruelty in animal farming, slaughter horses for meat enriching the slimyest among us. This is not going to stop as along as the Neanderthal Red Necks are being elected. Stop voting for them. I know this will offend some, and others may point to the very few Republucans that this doesn’t apply to. But for the
    Most part I’m telling the truth and you know it.

    April 9, 2013
    • Debbie Tracy

      Yes, I believe you are I am from Maine and moved to Kentucky four years ago, it is like another plane we are living on, not that Maine is better than Kentucky BUT I have seen such unblievable things here like this is one of the worse states in the country for Animal Abuse Laws imagine the horse capitol of the world, right?? Folks like farmers hunters think they are going to be infringed on with more animal laws imagine can you imagine!?!? It is so good ol boy backward ignorance and they are such God Fairing people RIGHT Gods Creatures were talking about here, what a joke!?!? I don’t mean to say ALL are like this but please if you have not lived in the atmosphere of just stupidity you can not judge and look maybe folks in Downeast Maine are the same I don’t know BUT I do know no one here wants to be infringed on they want to do whatever that may be with NO issues, I mean my god they ride on main roads with four wheelers golf carts out here in the County, ha, I am not kidding and it is OK to do so I don’t also mean to offend anyone either but this is how I see it unfortuantly!!! WE who care about the horses and any animal will fight and that includes probably some people here in Kentucky
      and ALL OVER!!!!

      April 10, 2013
    • Sue

      Paula, you are CORRECT. Frankly, government actually doing the Will of the People has taken years to erode. I look at Bush and Cheney, et. al. LYING to the American people about Iraq…weapons of mass destruction (then “W” looking under his desk and making a joke!), Iraq involved with 9/11 (the men were mostly Saudis…oh, yes, “W” holding that Saudi king’s hand!).

      Government used to listen….I was (and still am) a strong proponent of wolf reintroduction. If there were wolves in Nevada, the horse “overpopulation” (which the BLM claims to “need” to control) would not exist. People did not want the wolf taken off the endangered species list, but it was. The law there was disobeyed; the law states the government cannot piecemeal the states.

      Big money is controlling everything. Nearly all politicians are bought and paid for. We know a few who are not, but their lone voices cannot complete against Big Money Corporations.

      We do not need “smaller” government; we need more efficient government. Homeland Security increased the government thanks to “W”. I think we should cut that whole department, rather than the Dept. of Education like Rand Paul wants.

      April 11, 2013
      • BlessUsAll

        I hear you, Sue. How about more HONEST government?

        As they say, honesty is not only the best policy, it’s the ONLY policy. 🙂

        April 12, 2013
        • Daryl

          they want us to be honest, but can they ever?
          Sad state of affairs we are in , a congress that does not care about the well being of wild horses, who helped to win the west for the government…..! Think this says it best.

          April 12, 2013
  • There are 1000’s of us across this country calling, emailing, writing, faxing Jerry. We try to educate through FB and reach everyone we can. Peaceful flash mobs to bring awareness. There is an apathy and a desensitization to the masses. I don’t know the answer, but I do know accepting this is not the answer. We keep calling, we keep writing and we scream from our roof tops until someone listens is all I know to do. Quite frankly I believe it will take documented deaths by toxic horse meat to even begin to get this Nation off their butts. Even then I’m not sure all will wake up.

    April 9, 2013
  • BlessUsAll

    Amen, Jerry.

    Yes, have signed all online petitions since 2001.

    Yes, have called my senators and congressman ad nauseum.

    Equally importantly, I’ve quit propping up the corrupt animal-enslaving food industry with my dollars and cents.

    Friends, what real good are we doing if, after we rail against the breeders and slaughterers and butchers and fishers and shooters and processors of animal flesh and secretions (and the government officials who allow these violent industries to self-regulate!), we turn around and buy the products of this merciless exploitation and violence?

    Isn’t that two-faced? Counterproductive? An example of doing to others the very deed — fattening for slaughter, as christy put it — we don’t want done to us?

    Yes, it’s time to insist that our politicians answer to us and live up to our values of integrity, compassion, justice. But perhaps it’s also a good time to look even harder in the mirror and ask ourselves if we’re living those values to the best of our ability.

    The bottom line for me is: I can’t insist upon pure motives and acts from those who claim to represent me if I’m not willing to constantly purify my own aims and actions, can I?

    April 9, 2013
  • Daryl

    Years a go they made the bute for humans, did not work out but they found it was good for horses…tell you any thing.?

    April 10, 2013
    • Horses and people are very different species. Horses can take Vioxx too. You still have to be careful and not overdo with bute for horses or they can suffer severe stomach and intestinal problems. But not nearly as quickly as humans. Most NSAIDS are hard on the tummy, including aspirin.

      As the docs say, “All drugs have side effects.”

      April 10, 2013
  • My advice this week is the same as last,if you want to do something to help,do something now.

    April 10, 2013
  • I knew about the horse meat scandal in EU but I’ve just found this site. I am an animal lover and will call whom ever, fillout any forms and anything else I can to do help. This administration did not start this slippery slope that we are on.We have been in a free fall for along time. We have just awakened and began to see with better communications. What took years to get to the public can now be heard in a matter of minutes due to technology. My granddaughter was involved in the wall street movement but became afraid after a law was in Austin invloving protesting. We are in trouble as a country. They pay no attention to the citizens that py their salaries. Some how they keep getting back into office and doing what ever they want.

    April 10, 2013
  • Laurel

    I have called my senators and reps. They all vehemently agree to each letter I have written. At least that showed me that “someone read and responded”. I don’t know what else to do! I KNOW that *Bute causes birth defects*, and have yet to see that nugget of relevant and proven information in anyone’s post about horse slaughter. This ‘educated’ world is the epitome of “ignorance gone to seed”, yet people appear to prefer being ignorant. Some days a wanna give up!

    April 10, 2013
  • Ranching Cowgirl

    We write we call we sign petitions.
    Still the Politicians screw “We the People” over. The only way to stop them is to stand against them; it is looking like we must revolt. Our ancestors the Fathers of this ONCE great nation did every thing they could to protect us from Government. Then as time passed we allowed Government to tax and give free crap so now it is out of had the Government is way to big and out of control. At least this sequester BS is saving many mustangs from the painful death the BLM had in store for them! We need band together and cripple this Government and show them it is still “We the people”.
    We cant stop fighting!
    We need smaller Government and or rights and freedoms back!

    Fed up?
    Keep fighting!

    April 10, 2013
  • Ladis Niedzwiecki

    ****The government knows the American people don’t want horse slaughter… that’s why they snuck it through ….fear of national UP RISE ..and they are RIGHT !!!!!!

    April 10, 2013
  • Ladis Niedzwiecki

    For those who want horse slaughter…
    SPEND A DAY in a slaughter plant..bring your families…LISTEN to the CRIES..FEEL the FEAR & SUFFERING & SMELL the DEATH …Now tell your chidren that what you just viewed is for the welfare of these horses……

    April 10, 2013
  • Debbie Tracy

    I also have written signed called even other states I have lived in, President twice doing it all the time signed up my friends on facebook to do it too!! I have to be honest until I was looking up one day horses that needed a place to live did I fined out about BLM and what they have been doing all these years and now this and all this time letting horses cross the borders knowing they are not check, I am glad for me in a way that I have not know all this time cause this whole thing with horses is honestly eating me up I don’t know HOW you all have tried to help for so so long unbelieveable I think I would of been in a nut house by now honestly!! I own horses and love them with all my heart….
    I think people are so busy with their every day life they don’t take the time ALSO like me I had no idea until I looked up stuff on the computer and found out I mean NOTHING is on tv nothing!!!! I am trying so hard like many others to fix this huge outragously corrupt GOV. we have there are those that are not but so so many that are like one said (WE THE PEOPLE) are no more This REALLY is NOT a free country has not been for quite some time, remember my DAD who was a Veteran made his career in the Guard when he was alive he said nothing is ever going to change in this country till there is a revolution which that was not easy for him to say BUT I hear him now I understand!!! EVERYTHING is about lining pockets….. This country is falling apart with a very broken governing body!! I still have hope for the horses though and will keep on doing what ever I can like everyone else who sees this slaughter for what it really is, and the thing is I really think more people who want this Horse Slaughter really do know too but they are too Greedy and really don’t give a s–t>>>>>

    April 10, 2013
    • Ah. Nothing is on TV because the ‘enemy’ sponsors shows on the TV. Heaven forbid the TV networks offend them! (Never mind offending us.)
      Terrifying isn’t it? There is a book called the Prophet by Frank Peretti: it’s a christian fiction but it’s scary what it looks like behind the scenes of a news network. I have no doubt that in that respect it was quite accurate….

      April 10, 2013
  • It does get extremely frustrating. My reps totally ignore me except for an occasional canned response. I’m thinking of faxing them the USDA pictures of Beltex and Dallas Crown. Seriously. I can’t get their attention any other way. What do I have to lose?

    They are considering an Ag-gag law here in IN. Our state legislators are idiots. I’ll scream and yell, but it will probably do as much good as all the screaming and yelling in OK.

    Oh, I’m not giving up. I’ll keep writing and faxing forever if necessary. It’s personal with me too.

    April 10, 2013
  • Linda Jackson

    Information from California’s (anne@protectmustangs.org): fertility control drugs (SpayVac, GonaCon, ZonaStat-H) are being sprayed on the wild mustangs that are being held (20,000 left in the wild and 50,000 stockpiled). Some emails for complaints: dbolstad@blm.gov, nkornze@blm.gov, jconnell@blm.gov. Bute isn’t even the worse that horses are subject to.

    April 10, 2013
  • LNorman

    and don’t forget GMO’s – Monsanto actually wrote the rider that protects them from justice system. In addition to causing cancer,GMO 3rd generation is infertile! Guess all cattle will be test tube frankencattle soon, and most Americans will be dead: http://www.naturalnews.com/039778_evidence-based_science_murdered_GMO.html

    April 10, 2013
  • Bonnie McGahee

    Let’s give it a name people will instantly recognize. HORSEGATE

    April 10, 2013
    • Daryl

      that is a good name for it, but what can we do about it , I called the sentors and lines are full or busy and not one anwers the phone but a machine that is full up.

      April 12, 2013
  • sue m

    Truthfully, I think there are a few kinds of horse people in the world

    1. those who choose to be ignorant about the whole horse slaughter industry because it upsets them so much that they can’t bear to know anything…so they just ignore it and turn the other cheek.
    2. those who just wanna talk talk talk about it and actually do NOTHING!
    3. those who only call and write the politicians and say that we “can’t save them all” and put all their faith into a fallen government system that is partially run by evil, corrupt and greedy individuals.
    4. those who speak up to ALL people and go the extra mile by investing their time, energy, and finances to help as many horses as they possibly can

    Now if it were only possible to combine all of our efforts we could become one extremely large powerful voice for the horses and to the politicians and probably save many more horses….almost 198,000 horses were slaughtered last year…where was everybody? We just let them do it! Arent we all capable of doing so much more? No isn’t there a way we can combine ALL our efforts and form ONE large group that can KICK SOME BUTT! Just wondering?

    April 11, 2013
    • Daryl

      Sounds good, now how do we get them all, has to be in a nice way or it gets thrown out quick, they are looking for a way out, we can’t give it to them.

      April 12, 2013
  • Lin

    I am on the war path too Jerry, some of us are talking about going to Washington the first week in June, we need to go to get the SAFE act passed. and hopefully more than 150 people will show up this time.

    April 12, 2013
    • Catherine Adams

      Please keep me informed of anything going on in or around Los Angeles or nearby states so I can travel to these event’s. Would love to go to Washington, but not able to at this time. I pray I will be able to in the near future. Thank you for speaking out. Please forward me any contacts you have living in my neck of the woods, maybe we can form a group here in Los Angeles. We have to get in their face… Face to face. Let’s pray “we the people” still have a voice!

      April 15, 2013
  • Calls, letters, emails, whatever it takes. I want to show up in person, face to face with these greedy ass****’s. These poor helpless animals, what gives us the right to destroy them in such vulgar and horrible ways. What can “we the people” really do! This is America! “Land of the Free” Really? Yes, I really mean it, I’m ready to face these people face to face, so just give me the reins…. And one more thing. I am not for horse slaughter period. All this talk of tainted meat….. It’s a fact. Domestic horses are full of it and my guess would be not only does the BLM round up wild horses so that the cattle ranchers can pay to have more grazing land for their cattle, (thus more meat, more slaughtering), these wild horses are not injected with bute and other harmful chemicals. Please visit http://www.SavingAmericasHorses.org and let’s get on board and get rid of these Slaughter houses. The word itself just makes me cringe….. The sad part is that most of you that are reading this now do care. It’s the rest of the world that needs to tune in and wake-up to what’s happening in our country as well as all over the world.

    April 15, 2013
  • Susan Setzke

    I just watched a documentary: A River of Waste-The Hazardous Truth About Factory Farms. May I recommend everyone here to find that documentary on Youtube and watch it. The end of the documentary drops the ball and opens the door to what may happen with horse slaughter and the compromising of our food supply. It is a very powerful and eye-opening over-view of the strength and power of Ag-businesses and how they pass their corrupt and devastating practices on us, the unsuspecting American population. We really do need to unite and stand up to the corrupt politicians and special interest groups now more than ever. If we don’t, I’m afraid that our world and all it’s wonders will be lost for good. You have to believe in your voice, the power of voices united, and that the ethical, moral, and principled people of our nation and the world super-cede and will over-power those
    with none. Then we will be unstoppable.

    April 15, 2013