Food Safety and Inspection Service Says It’s Okay to Eat Your Horse

Unknown

July 2, 2013

Unknown-1Our wonderful US Government, Department of Agriculture, Food Safety And Inspection Service has issued a ruling stating that eating horsemeat is perfectly safe, that all the drugs, chemicals and everything else injected into our horses doesn’t mean anything at all, that all the residues stored in the meat doesn’t make a bit of difference and thus we can kill and dine on all the horses we want because if, by chance, one of them is contaminated, the slaughterhouse will catch it in time.

Short version – don’t worry, be happy. Our government is here to protect us.

I can truly say that I have never been so disgusted and revolted in my life, and its been a long life. Honor in our government has disappeared. This response to the petition from Front Range Equine Rescue and HSUS by the FSIS is a slap in the face to every scientist that ever looked in a microscope. Study after study has shown irrefutable evidence of residual drugs in horses coming off racetracks. Horses being run through auctions are shot full of Banamine to hide a hundred different problems. Tested, documented, exposed – yet IGNORED by the FSIS.

Even the EU has higher standards that we do, yet they wake up to find horsemeat in their breakfast sausage. Yet our government thinks these slaughterhouses will pull horses that “might have” been exposed to drugs?

Read and weep, America. This is our government in its highest form, representing you and I, and the office that we set in place to ensure our safety when we sit down at the table.

Click here to read the Response by the FSIS.

For even more fun, CLICK here to read the excitement shown by the pro-slaughter folks. They are absolutely peeing all over themselves with joy.

pastedGraphic.pdf

__________________________________

Habitat for Horses is a 501.c.3 nonprofit equine protection organization supported solely by donations. As of this today, we have 170 donkeys and horses under our care, plus one ornery, old mule. Most of them are here because law enforcement removed them from their previous owner. Our ability to rehabilitate and rehome them comes from the financial support of people like you. Please support us by making a donation for the horses we all serve. Click HERE to donate

AUTHOR: Jerry Finch
27 Comments
  • Terri Russell

    This Is Utterly Disgusting! HorseMeat Is Toxic! Dammit, I will Never East Another Piece Of Meat Again! It Is All About Money With No Regard For Human Health. No More, Never Again.. So If This Meat Is So Safe, Why Not Put Bute Back On The Market For Human Use? Hell, If FSIS is Going To Allow It In Food, As Well As All The Other Stuff, We May As Well Do Away With Them. Just Let Anything Go. And By The Way, Make Selling Drugs Without A Prescription Be Legal Too. In Essence, That Is What They Are Telling Us.

    July 2, 2013
  • Terra Pennington

    Guess they need to go back to 2007 when they said horse meat was not safe to eat. This is a great news story. Link below

    http://www.thedailybeast.com/newsweek/2013/03/04/what-s-in-your-horse-burger-chemicals-that-pose-serious-health-risks.html

    July 2, 2013
  • Margaret

    I didn’t even read the whole 6 pages. The first 1 1/2 were more than enough.

    Talk about dropping the F bomb. Several things come quickly to mind. 1 with this ruling there is no question in my mind that horsemeat will be switched out in this country with something else and we won’t be told. 2 EVERY single horse is in danger. Doesn’t matter if there wild or domesticate. 3 The first person to get sick as a matter of this ruling can and should sue the USDA. 4. Our government just sold us out to the devil.

    It is up to each of us now to protect the ones we love. Do not trust the government. If ever we have wondered whose side their on this should clearly show it. Government is on the side of business. They don’t give a rap about any of us. Pay our families off for the loss of a loved one but continue on business as usual.

    It is truly disgusting.

    July 2, 2013
    • Debbie Tracy

      Margaret, you know I said to myself in the beginning of this WHY ON EARTH would the Cattle Ass. want this horse slaughter, now I know they want to rid themselves of the Wild Horses, BUT I then thought my god they are going to mix it with horse meat eventually with out anyone knowing cheaper and who would know since they hardly ever test anything that’s a joke in itself but Maybe I am just going crazy with all these thoughts, SO WICKED disturbing….

      July 2, 2013
      • If you’re losing it, we all are because I also think they want to sneak horse meat into our food chain disguised as beef. What other reason do they have? MOST ranchers don’t even live on Public Lands, so the wild horses don’t bother THEM.

        July 2, 2013
        • sherriey

          i’m with you guys! i have thought that our food chain has already been compromised after what happened with the EU. i still say that it is…and until proven other wise….i do not trust the gov for one min!

          July 3, 2013
  • Debbie Tracy

    Yeah, this is something else, for sure… I want to scream cause I can’t talk to anyone who has the powers to stop this, funny how we have elected official’s that we vote into office for god sake and I can’t even talk to any of them one on one personnel, not that it would probably matter but I should have that right?… God Almighty…. I have from the very beginning of this thought that the GOV wants to rid themselves of the wild horses, I think USDA is playing both sides, I really do cause even though they had the lawsuit they plenty of ammunition legally to stop this and choose not to and yet in the next breath they are urging for Congress to step up, how funny is this, not really, but really?? ALL of them are going to kill the wild mustangs and then when that’s done Congress will pass the defunding language.. I just have this feeling, I hope I am wrong but I can’t help but think this with all that has happened…

    July 2, 2013
  • Marge Mullen

    The label on bute states not to be used in animals that will be slaughtered!!

    It is more than disgusting it is criminal!!

    July 2, 2013
  • Debbie Tracy

    Oh, I meant to ask someone I have looked and looked for Vilsak, (not sure if I spelled that right) e-mail address I had it once but I can’t find it, have found USDA but not one right to him can anyone help me, cause I NEED to write to him might make ME feel a bit better … Thanks who ever can help

    July 2, 2013
  • Debbie Tracy

    THIS NEEDS TO BE ON THE NIGHTLY NEWS EVERY STATION RIGHT NOW, lets write them I have written to abc will do the others tomorrow won’t hurt right??

    July 2, 2013
  • Gini Richardson

    There is no way an inspector can look at meat and tell if it has residue. Also, when a suspected animal is killed, it is processed and it takes two weeks for a report to come back on the meat. By them the meat has already been processed.

    July 2, 2013
  • Tina

    ummm, this is the “Part A” right? – connected to the “Part B” where our USDA RULING says CANNIBALISM is perfectly safe right??? ;-(

    July 2, 2013
  • There is so much corruption in our government that people who are paid and entrusted with the safety of our food will lie even if it kills people.

    July 2, 2013
  • Daryl

    I am to angry at our government to say any thing. Lets get their butts out of office every last one of them that voted this in.
    .

    July 2, 2013
  • Margo Nielsen

    Yeah, and fracking does no harm to the water supply… by the way, I have a bridge for sale…

    July 2, 2013
  • I can’t imagine why this would make the pros happy. I read this and among other idiotic statements, this condescending twerp answers the HSUS statement that a lifetime health/drug record is the only way to insure safety by saying, “We disagree.” We disagree with the EU rules and we ain’t gonna implement ’em so THERE!

    WE should think him for making in crystal clear to the EU that we will NEVER meet their requirements.

    July 2, 2013
  • Monika Courtney

    This is a higher conspiracy as I fear BLM is pushing it behind the scene. The proposed lethal control by Callie Hendrickson BLM Board member to NAS of January 2012 clearly reflected this doom coming our way. The whining on cost of horses in holding, the continued harassing of wild mustangs and wipe out on the range while the upper elite of good ol’boys in USDA and DOI work hard to push this. We are not told nothing but lies. We are all victims, this has never been about food safety. It is about big money and a way to rid our range of mustangs. That will be the next obstacle – them proudly announcing that wild horses are “cleaner” etc. etc. – I hope by then we will have an uprise in this mess called America.

    July 3, 2013
  • President Obama has given the green light to toxic, cancer causing foods by passing the Monsanto Protection Act. This will strip judges of their constitutional mandate to protect consumer rights and the environment, while opening up the floodgates for the planting of new untested genetically engineered crops, endangering farmers, consumers and the environment. Add horsemeat to the list.

    July 3, 2013
    • For the 1,000th time – It is NOT Obama’s call all the time. Congress is the place where these laws are made – or not. The President Cannot “pass” and Act.

      July 10, 2013
  • Tim

    I especially liked the part about enforcing the rare violations that occur in the killbox and transport. Seem to be a shill for the cattle industry and seem to be protecting their department from rumors about not protecting our food supply. Either way, it is up to us to demand our legislators end horse slaughter once and for all.

    July 3, 2013
  • JanSchultz

    This is not the America I grew up in. This is an America which has been invaded by foreign voices and investors who have nothing to lose by poisoning the minds and bodies of the people who live in freedom. We are witnessing a land grab that will be retold in the history books. A means to an income is always the excuse. It will be the dogs and cats next.

    As for attacking America, please. Our country is a mess because of the chaos of misaligned allegiances for transfer of power fueled by people who do not understand the meaning of freedom.

    I agree with Tim, the demand for the passage of the SAFE Act has got to be a priority today!

    July 3, 2013
  • JanSchultz

    Reading their denial that every horse is adulterated if some are administered bute makes me laugh. The pork industry just lost the Russian market because of its headlong administration of some additive by some producers. Whoever wrote this report is a sell out.

    July 3, 2013
  • sherriey

    ….have you ever been too mad and too disgusted to just not say anything?
    i am!

    July 3, 2013
    • Daryl

      Yes Sherriey, I have , Don’t believe the Government they lie every day, tell you one thing to shut you up and do some thing else when you think they are on the side of the animals they arn’t. Vote them out, we the people voted them in .

      July 4, 2013
  • Valerie W.

    The only thing I can say is, we need to get our “armies” together, & deploy, ASAP! If they build, tear them down, attack these places of horror before they can even start them up! If they refuse to listen, not just to all of us, but also to science, evidence, experience, then the only thing left to do is take matters into our own hands! They will not listen, nor do they care, when this is fought in courts of law, the time for being all civil, legal , polite, nice, & by the books, is OVER!

    July 7, 2013
    • You’ll be arrested as an “animal terrorist” and then you can do nothing.

      July 10, 2013
  • Not only was that response loaded with scientific errors, it was hostile, rude, condescending and unprofessional.

    This arrogant twit of a bureaucrat sounded like a kid playing GOTCHA! Only his gotchas were filled with inaccuracies.

    I intend to file a complaint. Probably won’t do any good, but this guy REALLY infuriated me.

    July 10, 2013